Subscribe Today

Ad-Free Browsing

Close This Ad

Square Enix Lifts the Curtain on Balan Wonderworld

23 Jul 2020

After the recent “Balan Company” teasers from Square Enix, Balan Wonderworld, the new game by former Sonic Team members was unveiled during the Xbox Games Showcase today.

Balan Wonderworld is themed around a musical, where physical and mental memories converge together, with main characters Leo and Emma being sent off on a journey to restore the world’s balance under the guise of maestro Balan.

The game will feature twelve different levels with multiple objectives, requiring players to “explore all corners of these labyrinthine stages, using all the tricks and gimmicks hidden along the way, to get to the heart of each touching story.”

Leo and Emma can also use “costumes” to gain abilities such as flying and ground-punding, with over 80 different styles available.

Balan Wonderworld is being developed by the former head of Sonic Team Yuji Naka, and the designer of Sonic the Hedgehog, Naoto Oshima. The music will be composed by Ryo Yamazaki, who has worked on titles such as Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII, Front Mission 5, and Kingdom Hearts.

Baland Wonderworld will be released in Spring 2021 for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, Nintendo Switch, and PC (Steam). The game will also feature smart delivery for PlayStation and Xbox consoles.

Featured image courtesy of Square Enix.